Home Politics Standoff As Ruto’s Candidate Says Unauthorized IEBC Official Declared Opponent’s Victory

Standoff As Ruto’s Candidate Says Unauthorized IEBC Official Declared Opponent’s Victory

by Sir Wabwire Jr
0 comment

Deputy President William Ruto’s United Democratic Alliance (UDA) for Starehe Constituency, Simon Mbugua has accused Jubilee’s nominated MP Maina Kamanda for allegedly colluding with Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) unauthorized returning officer to announce opponent, Amos Mwago of Jubilee as MP elect for.

EALA MP argued that it is only gazetted returning officer by the electoral commission who is mandated to announce the winner of the election.

The legislator insisted that he fairly won in all polling stations against Amos Mwago and threatened to outshine the “declared” winner in the next round.

Former Nairobi governor Mike Sonko endorses Simon Mbugua for Starehe MP

“It’s only a gazetted returning officer under the law who can announce a winner in an election. Kamanda and co you brought your friend from IEBC to announce the person who did not win.. I won fairly in all polling stations… now we prepare for the next round” he said.

Amos Mwago of Jubilee was declared the MP elect after garnering 50, 777 votes while Simon Mbugua of UDA came second with 35,548 votes.

Earlier on, there was standoff at Jamhuri High School tallying center where Amos Mwago accused Simon Mbugua of attempting to manipulate results in his favor.

However, Azimio – One Kenya wing has swept more parliamentary seats in Nairobi county than the opponent umbrella of Kenya Kwanza Alliance.

Nairobians are eagerly waiting for the electoral commission to declare the winners for gubernatorial, women rep and senatorial positions in the just concluded general election.

In gubernatorial race, Johnson Sakaja of UDA and Polycap Igathe of Jubilee were on neck to neck battle, as Millicent Omanga of UDA faced off Esther Passaris of ODM for Women Rep Seat.

ODM secretary general Edwin Sifuna battled out with former Starehe MP Margaret Wanjiru of UDA for senatorial position.

IEBC is also expected to announce the presidential results within 7 days from the voting day.

You may also like