Home Politics Ruto Receives 7 Independent MPs In His Latest Move To Achieve Majority In Parliament

Ruto Receives 7 Independent MPs In His Latest Move To Achieve Majority In Parliament

by KDB
0 comment
Ruto receives defectors

President-Elect William Ruto has welcomed 7 Mps elected on Independent tickets to his Kenya Kwanza coalition.

“Implementing the Bottom-Up Economic agenda will require a bi-partisan approach in legislation. It is because of this that we are grateful to MPs elected on Independent tickets who have committed to work with Kenya Kwanza.

“Hosted a caucus that included Joshua Mbithi (Masinga), Njoroge Elijah (Gatundu North), Caroline Ngelechei (Elgeyo Markwet), Rahim Dawood (Imenti North), Timothy Kipchumba (Markwet West), Ntutu Kitilai (Narok South), and Monica Muthoni (Lamu Woman Rep),” Ruto posted.

The outgoing Deputy President has over the past few days received a host of MPs elected on Independent tickets and under the Azimio la Umoja One Kenya Alliance.

Ruto receives MPs

Makau Mutua accuses Ruto of unlawfully acquiring Azimio, Independent MPs

The defections have however been faced by alot of opposition from the Azimio camp.

Raila Odinga Campaign Secretariat spokesperson Makau Mutua poured cold water on the defections, saying they were of legal nullity.

“The law that led to the formation of Azimio La Umoja One Kenya — and its Deed of Agreement — set out the ground rules and conditions under which members can exit the coalition. There are clear guidelines.

“Ruto should know that it is illegal for him, or others, to induce members to purport to leave Azimio. No member of Azimio has legally invoked the process of leaving the coalition. All the members who signed as original members are still members in good standing. So, any purported defections are a legal nullity,” Mutua said in a press release.

You may also like