Home Politics Ruto Nominates Close Political Allies To Transition Committee

Ruto Nominates Close Political Allies To Transition Committee

by Sir Wabwire Jr
0 comment

United Democratic Alliance (UDA) president-elect William Ruto has nominated former National Assembly speaker Justin Muturi, Uasin Gishu Women representative Gladys Boss Shollei and UDA secretary general to oversee the handing-over power in the transition committee.

The committee is chaired by the Secretary to the Cabinet whose alternate in the 2022 context is Head of Public Service Joseph Kinyua, and includes Attorney-General Kihara Kariuki, Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i, Interior PS Karanja Kibicho, Treasury PS Julius Muia, Foreign Affairs PS Amb. Macharia Kamau, Information PS Esther Koimett, Devolution PS Micah Powon and PS Jospheta Mukobe of Heritage and Culture.


UDA president elect William Ruto

Deputy President William Ruto is already receiving security briefings in accordance with the act while his security detail and that of his deputy were enhanced immediately after the declaration.

This follows when former Prime Minister Raila Amollo Odinga has already indicated that he will be heading to the Supreme Court to protest the just concluded presidential elections results.

He accuses the chairperson of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Wafula Chebukati of having engaged in irregularities and illegalities.

Raila termed Chebukati’s declaration as null and void as he hinted at exhausting legal processes tp petition Ruto’s victory.

According to the latest report, the Azimio – One Kenya legal committee is expected to lodge a petition at the supreme court on Monday that will see seven (7) judges rule on the petition.

According to Raila, Chebukati colluded with Kenya Kwanza Alliance candidate William Ruto to fasten the announcement despite the questionable electoral processes that were raised by four Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) commissioners.

William Ruto was declared the president-elect after wielding 7,141,146 votes represented 50.49 per cent while Raila Odinga came second with 6,942,930 votes reflecting 48.89 per cent.

However, the four commissioners led by IEBC vice chair Madam Cherera protested against Chebukati’s declaration and disowned the results citing the opaque nature of electoral processes.

You may also like