Home Politics “Wananiogopa” Wanjigi Speaks After IEBC Disqualifying Him From Presidential Race

“Wananiogopa” Wanjigi Speaks After IEBC Disqualifying Him From Presidential Race

by Sir Wabwire Jr
0 comment

Safina party presidential hopeful Jimmy Wanjigi has accused Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) chairman Wafula Chebukati of allegedly consolidating with his (Wanjigi) opponents in the presidential race to disqualify him from contesting.

Speaking immediately after Chebukati deemed him unfit to participate in the presidential battle, Wanjigi noted that his tactful campaign strategies had implored fear into the opponents’ camps forcing them to corner Chebukati into disqualifying him.

“Wananiogopa, and I don’t understand why they fear me. Is it because they have learnt that we taking the seat? Or is it because they fear our tactful and structural campaign strategies? They don’t have the power to disqualify the people’s choice” said Wanjigi

He also threatened to move to court to challenge the electoral commission’s decision to disqualify him terming it a flimsy decision.

“We are moving to court to challenge the decision. Chebukati can’t disqualify people’s choice on such flimsy grounds. We are marching forward and I want to assure you that we will succeed in this journey” he added.

Wanjigi had submitted Day Star University Transcript indicating that he is expected to graduate in December 2022.

Wanjigi[PHOTO/ COURTESY:Jimmy Wanjigi]

Wanjigi was disqualified after failing to meet the requisite threshold of submitting 47,975 signatures from at least 24 counties across the country.

Chebukati also argued that Wanjigi lacked University degree, a requirement for the presidential candidate to qualify to vie for the county’s top seat.

This comes a day after Punguza Mzigo, Third Way Alliance presidential candidate Eukur Okot was also disqualified for failing to secure the requisite threshold for the required signatures.

So far, five candidates have cleared to vie for the country’s top seat. They include; The Roots Party candidate George Luchiri Wajackoyah, Kenya Kwanza Alliance candidate William Ruto, Azimio – One Kenya coalition candidate Raila Odinga, Umoja Summit Party presidential candidate Walter Mong’are and Professor Waihiga Mwaura.

Facebook Comments

You may also like

Leave a Comment